Spedding could debut at fullback against Fiji

Scott Spedding has been playing consistently in the Top 14 levele for the past three seasons. Photo: Skysports

Scott Spedding has been playing consistently in the Top 14 level for the past three seasons. Photo: Skysports

Newly named Les Bleus and South African born Scott Spedding could be donning the number 15 jumper against Fiji at the Velodrome in Marseilles on Saturday.

The 28-year-old Bayonne fullback replaces the injured Brice Dulin and already has an upper hand with main rival for the position Maxine Medard.

Medard is struggling to be fit with a groin injury sustained from his club game with Tolouse in the Top 14 last weekend.

The recently naturalized Spedding was highly emotional after hearing the news of his replacing Dulin in the squad.

“My first thought was for my family. I am thinking about my father in particular,” said Spedding.

“My father was always there for me. This is thanks to my parents because they made huge sacrifices for me. This is an unbelievable moment.

“It has been a long road to arrive at this. It is a huge moment in my life. It was always a dream for me but I never thought it would happen. I hope it is just the beginning. I already know the ‘Marseillaise’ I am French.

“Each time a squad was announced since 2011 when I was eligible for selection and I wasn’t in it I lost hope, although I kept the dream alive in a small locker in my head.

“I was seeing the years advance, even if I still have a few ahead of me in terms of playing.”

Spedding has been playing consistently for Bayonne for the last three seasons and the call up has been highly praised by pundits who follow French rugby and the Top 14 competition.

New Zealander Glen Jackson will ref the game assisted by Kiwi Mike Fraser and Uruguayan Frederico Anselmi on the sidelines.

Fiji lines up against France at the Velodome in Marseilles at 5.45pm on Saturday (5.45am Sunday Fiji Time).

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiji tour, Flying Fijians, France, November Tests, Top 14

Leave a Reply

